Kalutara District

Kalutara District is one of the 25 districts of Sri Lanka, the second level administrative division of the country. The district is administered by a District Secretariat headed by a District Secretary (previously known as a Government Agent) appointed by the central government of Sri Lanka. The capital of the district is the town of Kalutara.

Kalutara District is located in the south west of Sri Lanka and has an area of 1,598 square kilometres (617 sq mi). It is bounded by Colombo District from north, Ratnapura District from east, Galle District from south, and by the Indian Ocean from west.

Kalutara District is divided into 14 Divisional Secretary’s Division, each headed by a Divisional Secretary. The DS Divisions are further sub-divided into 762 Grama Niladhari Divisions.

Kalutara District’s population was 1,217,260 in 2012. The majority of the population are Sinhalese, with a minority Sri Lankan Moor and Sri Lankan Tamil population.

Open chat
Scan the code
Hello 👋
Can we help you?