Scared city of Anuradhapura


The Sacred City of Anuradhapura is a destination for religious exploration and cultural appreciation for Sri Lankan Buddhist tourists. The initial capital of Sri Lanka is Anuradhapura, which is situated in the country’s north-central province. The Sacred City of Anuradhapura was designated a UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Sri Lanka 1982.

A remarkable sight of majestic, carefully planned, enormous Buddhist shrines and monasteries, magnificent palaces, pavilions, and parks, bathing ponds, and enormous reservoirs may be seen there. It is an epicenter of Theravada Buddhism. The site is filled with restored structures, conserved ruins, and historical locations where archaeologists have conducted excavations.

Ancient City of Polonnaruwa

After Anuradhapura, the initial capital of Sri Lanka, Polonnaruwa is the country’s second-oldest monarchy. It is situated in Sri Lanka’s north-central province. The tradition of the city as a capital city began under the rule of King Vijayabahu I. The Royal Palace, temples, monasteries, dagobas, massive Buddhist statues, water fountains, and secret caves are among the amazing wonders that still survive today. The city’s ruins are undamaged. UNESCO declared Polonnaruwa a UNESCO World Heritage sites in Sri Lanka at1982 under the name of the Ancient City of Polonnaruwa..

Best Things to Do in Polonnaruwa

  • Archaeological Museum
  • Ancient sites including ancient monuments such as Gal Viharaya / KiriVihara / Kumara Pokuna / Vatadage
  • Visit Parakrama Samudraya (Sea)
  • Enjoy a typical Sri Lankan local Lunch
  • Cycle ride through the ancient site

Ancient City of Sigiriya


The icon of the ancient city of Sigiriya is the Rock Fortress. It is also referred to as the “Eighth Wonder of the World” by UNESCO. King Kashyapa constructed his castle on the astonishingly high 660-foot flat at the height of the Sigiriya rock during the last few decades of the fifth century A.D. It is situated in Sri Lanka’s central province’s northern Matale district, close to the city of Dambulla. One of Sri Lanka’s most famous sites is the Ancient City of Sigiriya.

Within the boundaries of the fortress are additional places of historical and cultural significance, such as the Lion Gate, Royal Gardens, historic pools, Sigiriya frescoes, and Sigiriya Museum.  you must have to climb up 1200 steps before you reach Lion Rock.

Dambulla Cave Temple


In the Matale region in the Central Province of Sri Lanka, there is a complex of cave temples called the Dambulla Temple. The Dambulla complex consists of five cave temples that are each highly embellished with a wide variety of Buddhist artifacts, murals, and statues of the Lord Buddha. The largest and best-preserved cave temple complex in all of Sri Lanka is this active Buddhist site.

The mural paintings, which span a substantial 2,100m2 area, are particularly significant. At an elevation of 1118 feet above mean sea Level. There are three statues of Sri Lankan Kings among the 153 Buddha statues and other god and goddess statues. The interior of the caves is decorated with complex patterns depicting religious symbols. Along with various gods and goddesses, there are pictures of the Lord Buddha, bodhisattvas, and other gods.

Galle and its fortifications

Galle Fort is a Portuguese fortress built in 1588 on the southwestern coast of Sri Lanka. It is UNESCO’s World Heritage and has 14 bastions, a lighthouse, a tower, a Protestant church, and the Commandant’s residence, arsenal, and gun house. The entrance to the fort is constructed with cut stones, semicircular stones, and arches depicting the nature of a cavern.

Things to do in Galle

  • Walk through Old Dutch Fort
  • Maritime museum Galle
  • Galle village tour
  • Galle National Museum
  • Visit the Dutch Reform Church
  • Enjoy Sea Food restaurants in Fort

Sinharaja Forest Reserve

Sinharaja is a Rain Forest and a biodiversity hotspot located in Sri Lanka. It covers 11,000 Ha of primary and secondary forests, with over 60% of the trees endemic and many of them considered rare. It is home to over 50% of Sri Lanka’s endemic species of butterflies, mammals, insects, reptiles, and rare amphibians. Sinharaja Forest was accepted by UNESCO as a biosphere reserve in 1978 and declared a UNESCO world Heritage sites in Sri Lanka at 1981. It is home to rare and endangered species and is the best place to watch mixed-species bird flocks, with 42 individual birds on average.

Things to do in Sinharaja

  • Sinharaja Rain Forest – World Heritage
  • Maduwanwela Walawwa – Historical place
  • Neluwa Duwili Ella Falls – Waterfall
  • Sathmala Ella – Waterfall

Central Highlands of Sri Lanka


The Central Highlands of Sri Lanka was inscribed as a UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Sri Lanka at 2010 in recognition of its biodiversity. Central Highlands of Sri Lanka is a protected land area located in the south-central part of the country.It conserves the largest remaining stands of sub- and montane rainforest in Sri Lanka and protects the habitat of an assemblage of associated species with extraordinary levels of endemism.

It is home to an extraordinary range of flora and fauna, including endangered species such as the western purple-faced Langur, Horton Plains Slender Loris and the Sri Lankan Leopard.The Central Highlands of Sri Lanka provide a microcosm of Sri Lanka’s climatic conditions, from extreme wet to nearly arid.

No Fields Found.